skip to content | skip to navigation

Key Stage 4

At Key Stage 4 we aim to build on students' strengths from Key Stage 3 taking into account their preferences.

The common core subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

The foundation subjects:

  • Physical Education
  • Computing
  • Citizenship

The statutory subjects:

  • Religious Education
  • Sex Education
  • Careers

The statutory entitlement subjects at Key Stage 4

  • Arts (comprising art and design, music, dance, drama and media arts)
  • Design and Technology (comprising food, textiles and resistant materials)
  • Humanities (comprising geography and history)
  • Modern Foreign Language

These are not compulsory national curriculum subjects after the age of 14, but all students in maintained schools have a statutory entitlement to be able to study a subject in each of those four areas. We also offer vocational subject areas.

The vocational subjects:

  • Land Based Studies
  • Forest Schools
  • Horticulture

Our Learning

Find out about our learning:


Learning to repair bicycles in Technology.
Horticulture lesson.

Horticulture lesson.
An English display.

Creative iMedia display.
Learning about emotions in PSHCE.

Work experience at Jamie Oliver's restaurant.
Work experience at Jamie Oliver's restaurant.

Work experience at the Martineau Gardens.